work in progress for pollination show, by Charmagne Coe

This is a large painting I started a couple of weeks ago. It is made with layers of watercolor, ink and pastel. Look at the outline of that … is it a bird, or?? This is one of those works that gently, sort of effortlessly unfolds. Already, I can see there will be multiple characters and plot twists. I had not intended it to be themed in any direction or for a particular show, but last night, out of the blue, I realized it would be just perfect for an upcoming group exhibition which focuses on pollinators. The show will happen at West of the Moon Gallery on April 3rd, Flagstaff First Friday Art Walk. But now that I’ve written it, I’m going to forget about times and dates and all that, and think about… paint. I’m excited. Can you tell?

When Suddenly, drawing by Charmagne Coe

Here is a piece from yesterday, When Suddenly, 2015, ink drawing on tan paper.

snippet of discarded painting, by Charmagne Coe
Not everything goes as planned, of course, but often there are elements of a painting that are just right, or that contain a nudge, or a hint, be it ever so small, of something I feel good about. And so I save those. I take out the scissors and snip out what I know I’ll miss otherwise. Those are like micro inspirations. Above is one such “snippet”. I found it hanging out under some glassine. As I look at it, if feels like this is its very own painting that’s simply unfinished. We shall see.

Thanks for popping in. Thanks all for the kind comments and adding me to your reader. Take care.