This is my newest painting, Panthea. 2014, 26 5/16″ x 18 3/8″, watercolor, ink and pastel. You can also view it at my website.

Panthea, painting by Charmagne CoeAnd detail photographs….Panthea, detail, painting by Charmagne Coe
Panthea, detail, painting by Charmagne Coe
Panthea, detail, painting by Charmagne Coe
Panthea, detail, painting by Charmagne Coe
I am thrilled about this work  It became quite an undertaking, not only because it is a larger piece, but because the story within kept evolving.  Just as I thought the painting was coming to a close, another surprise twist would appear. It embodies many illuminations and inner spiritual contemplations. The experience was wholly numinous.

More news! I will be discussing Panthea in an art column I was invited to write for Arcadia Magazine’s Online Sundries.  The column is titled “Familiar Spirits Light a Way”. For six months it will feature six of my paintings selected from 2011 – 2014.  Here is an excerpt:

“… my pursuit is to conduit essential narratives from the spiritual and collective unconscious, incorporate life all around me and to further be a part of that deeply mysterious and bottomless connectedness with others.”