I’ve been working glacially, quietly on several larger works simultaneously. Here are some snaps for you. This painting, as my others, are composed with watercolor, ink and pastel and is 18 7/8″ x 18 1/4″.

IMG_0220-001

You can glimpse the next one at the bottom, even larger, that I am returning to this week. I see there a woman on the edge of… I don’t know yet. I started it months ago and have been so enamored by the initial layers, that I’ve been rather cautious to touch it just yet. The next steps needed to percolate for a while. But, I believe it’s time to jump in. If you were at the live painting at the Renaissance Hotel, this is the work in progress I had on the easel.

IMG_0224-001b
Here’s a closer look:

IMG_0227-001

The following are ink drawings I finished recently.

“Incarnation”img164

“Interlocking”img166
I felt lavished and nurtured today upon reading Anais Nin’s following thoughts on the artistic process of writing.

“You must not fear, hold back, count or be a miser with your thoughts and feelings. It is also true that creation comes from an overflow, so you have to learn to intake, to imbibe, to nourish yourself and not be afraid of fullness. The fullness is like a tidal wave which then carries you, sweeps you into experience and into writing. Permit yourself to flow and overflow, allow for the rise in temperature, all the expansions and intensifications. Something is always born of excess: great art was born of great terrors, great loneliness, great inhibitions, instabilities, and it always balances them.”

This is a song from one of my painting playlists – “Saudade”, by Love and Rockets. It is set to a black and white video created by António Vasques de Azevedo.