My first show was at Molly Holland Studio in Flagstaff, AZ almost four years ago. I had a large collection of works which were very much about the themes that inspire me now… pathos, the maternal bond, spiritual journeying and human connection. I quote Bjork: “My romantic gene is dominant.” At the time I had no budget for framing, so I did the unspeakable and presented the unframed works naked, taped onto black acid-free foam core. I prayed no one would accidentally sneeze on or bump into them. I would not recommend this to anyone who works with pastels. That night, visitors were happily surprised to have an up-close experience with a media that should otherwise absolutely remain behind glass. The exhibition went well and all the works remained intact and un-smudged.

“Then We Tilted”

Image
“Wounded”
Image
I am fond of visiting my older works because they are, amongst other meaningful things, painted reflections of where I was in my life when I made them. New motherhood. Experiencing the death of a friend. Travels to southern Arizona. I have been asked many times:  “How long does it take to make a painting?” My most uncomplicated answer would be, “My whole life”. That is what goes into an artwork. A culmination of life’s experience leading up to that work, as well as the actual hours of paintbrush on paper. But saying something like “four weeks” is the right answer too. Below are 2008 paintings from my personal collection.

“The Face of the Water”

“Venture”

“Angel From a Past Life”. This work was based upon a drawing.

Image
These are from my stacks of drawing journals. Some older, some newer.

Image
Image

Image

I’ve submitted a blue ink drawing to the Illustration Friday‘s “Shades”. A dear friend agreed I should go with a ghostly theme, as opposed to sunglasses. I agreed. This is titled, “From Her Walls I Hear Refrains”.
Image
Image