Happy New Year! It has been a refreshing holiday with friends and family. Now that the festivities are over and I am caught up on my sleep, it is good to be in the studio once again, putting colors down on paper.  Yesterday, my well of India ink formed a large bubble and popped! I wiped off my face and shirt, then noticed a few droplets had landed on my composition. It seemed sort of fitting to have a little explosion in the wake of 2012.

The very small painting below was completed for the upcoming group show, “The 10×10 Exhibition” at the Coconino Center for the Arts, 2300 North Fort Valley Road, Flagstaff, AZ. It happens on Saturday, January 21st, 6pm – 8 pm and runs till February 22nd. It will showcase over 100 artists who have taken on the challenge of producing an original work within the confines of a ten-inch by ten-inch space. You can visit here for more information. This is “Bask” , created in watercolor, ink and pastel.