I officially have two boys in school and for the first time, my home is quiet in the morning. I have intentions to elongate my painting hours. It was easy this morning to catch an idea for Illustration Friday’s weekly theme: Influence. My mind is focused on the tension between maternal nurturing, influence, freedom and forbearance. Creating and letting go. The tension of those things is a rich substance. This little illustration was created in watercolor, ink and pastel… like a micro version of my larger works.

Not unrelated… While at Mission Bay this summer, something caught my eye. There, protruding from the wet sand was an object resembling the Venus of Willendorf, a fertility figurine. I love to look at it. It reminds me of how important feminine divinity has been through the aeons and what small part I play in my existence.

Drawings from last week. Ink and paper.