I broke my camera. I really did.  But despite it, I managed to hold together the lens piece in order to shoot, what are becoming, my weekly episode of sketches.

This summer has been filled with ephemera and life in miniature… planting seeds, sketching in new smaller-format sketchbooks, looking at pictures of my children when they were little, poking at the anthill of small house projects that have accumulated over the years.  Time feels slow and yawning and I haven’t any motivation to speed it up.

This is my work submitted for Illustration Friday’s topicMidsummer Night.

“I keep thinking that what we need is a new language – a language of the heart. Some kind of language between people that is a new kind of poetry.” I heard this from the movie,  My Dinner with Andre. It touched me. My drawings and paintings are a contribution, if nothing else, to such a language.